Random Ramblings

Reflections on my walk with God

But Lord…..

Leave a comment

You know those times when you are praying, alone or with others….. You or someone starts to pray …. thanking God, praising Him, lifting up a person or situation …….. searching for words to say and then it slips out “..but, Lord ….”

Often it is a cry to God to do something that we think He should, or to remind Him of the details….
The there are the times that we just cannot imagine the answer to the situation, a friend with incurable cancer, a marriage broken beyond repair, a family member so damaged that God seems like a joke, unbelievable horrors in distant lands…. …….

We go through the situation over and over in our minds, we discuss it and try to pray. Our thoughts and prayers go round and round as we try to think of human fixes until we eventually are ready to say “But Lord …you know this situation better than I ever could…. only You know how this person/situation can be ‘fixed’ …and we hand it over to Him.” Our petitions spilling out, an acknowledgement that He knows what we need and when we cannot find the words “the Spirit groans”

In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. (Romans 8:26-27 NASB)

Author: triciafrasman

Updated April 2017! When I started this blog I was very much a "young" Christian and still very much finding my way. This year I celebrate my 10th rebirth day in June and so must think of myself as at least an adolescent Christian, but this blog is still about my meandering walk with God. I became a Mother at 41 - and that colours much of how I live my life. When asked at about 4 what Mummy's most important job was, my daughter did not hesitate to say" Looking after me". I will drop anything that I am doing if my family needs me. My family come first and I think of myself as Mother, Wife, daughter, sister, teacher - in that order. I am currently having a “Gap year” – I left my teaching job with my Husband’s blessing and very much in answer to God’s prompting in August 2016. I am now looking and waiting for God to reveal His plan for my life.

Leave a Reply

