Random Ramblings

Reflections on my walk with God

The Gate Of The Year: A Present for My Mother

Leave a comment

We watched The King’s Speech last night and a little research lead me to various articles about George VI’s much better remembered speech on Christmas day 1939. Here are some lovely thoughts on that, do read the full poem by Minnie Haskins.

Kate Shrewsday

Dark days, they were, at the outset of a world war.

What words can a King offer his country on Christmas Day, when evil is already threatening its very existence?

King George VI spoke slowly and with great conviction on Christmas Day 1939. And in a little Sussex village –  Crowborough, to be precise – a family had gathered around the radio to listen to that speech.

In the darkest times we can do little but share our common humanity and reach out to touch – whom? What? That vast network of humans like us, in our predicament? Or that spirit which underpins who we are?

That day, the King chose words which stirred hearts. They helped my countrymen gird their loins and prepare for something which was indeed, for many, a fight to the death; but which ended in exhausted, impoverished triumph five long years later.

The words were…

View original post 670 more words

Author: triciafrasman

Updated April 2017! When I started this blog I was very much a "young" Christian and still very much finding my way. This year I celebrate my 10th rebirth day in June and so must think of myself as at least an adolescent Christian, but this blog is still about my meandering walk with God. I became a Mother at 41 - and that colours much of how I live my life. When asked at about 4 what Mummy's most important job was, my daughter did not hesitate to say" Looking after me". I will drop anything that I am doing if my family needs me. My family come first and I think of myself as Mother, Wife, daughter, sister, teacher - in that order. I am currently having a “Gap year” – I left my teaching job with my Husband’s blessing and very much in answer to God’s prompting in August 2016. I am now looking and waiting for God to reveal His plan for my life.

Leave a Reply

