Random Ramblings

Reflections on my walk with God

Struggles with Romans

6 Comments

I initially hesitated when an idea was posted on Twitter to do a Bible study which covered the Gospels of Luke, John and the book of Acts (#luke2acts), as I had never done a Twitter Bible study before, and had just finished reading Luke-Acts. I am so glad that I decided to join in for many reasons. Reinforcement of the daily discipline of scripture reading was only one of the benefits. There was no pressure and people felt able to dip in and out as they were able. There were enough of us involved that if any slipped behind we knew that someone else would have commented. As happens in the twittersphere, new contacts were made and older ones renewed.

I enjoyed it immensely. I had previously completed book-based and online Bible studies alone, but the daily interaction and encouragement really supported my own studies and I learned a lot. Hungry for more when we finished, I suggested that we carry on! Romans to Revelation suggested itself and so #Rom2Rev was born.

I have read Romans before, twice all the way through as part of “Bible in a Year” studies (which took about 3 years and 15 months, respectively), and various chapters and passages at other times. In my previous reading I had tended to “leave to one side” the parts that are troubling. As many of us do – and not just with Romans.

I feel a real kinship with those who are participating in #Rom2Rev.  We have collectively struggled with the difficult scriptures, not necessarily finding answers but the act of delving deeper is rewarding in itself.  There are fewer of us participating in this study and along with the complexities of the material we are all having difficulties in to keeping up.

At no time have I considered myself to be the leader – just the impetuous one who thought it would be fun to carry on and so put together a timetable for the study. It has been suggested that we  take 2 days per chapter, I think that would be useful for the rest of Romans, and we may need a week or so to collect our thoughts before continuing! The other letters, hopefully, will not be so taxing so maybe we could have 2 days for the longer chapters, but stick with a day for the shorter ones. We may need much more time for Revelation!

The thought does occur and should be spoken – do we want to continue after Romans? It is a time commitment, and Twitter is certainly not the best vehicle for deep discussion, however for myself the act of trying to sum up ideas succinctly helps my understanding. I do think that none of us should feel obliged at any time to comment on every verse or even every chapter, it is enough to know that others are reading along and struggling/learning/rejoicing with us.  If time only allows the highlighting of one verse,  or even the acknowledgement of having read that day’s chapter, I think that’s enough. 

We can never aspire to truly grasp the whole meaning of these writings on this side of eternity; at present “we see in a mirror, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know fully even as also I was fully known.” (1 Corinthians 13:12 )

Please comment or Tweet your thoughts.

Author: triciafrasman

Updated April 2017! When I started this blog I was very much a "young" Christian and still very much finding my way. This year I celebrate my 10th rebirth day in June and so must think of myself as at least an adolescent Christian, but this blog is still about my meandering walk with God. I became a Mother at 41 - and that colours much of how I live my life. When asked at about 4 what Mummy's most important job was, my daughter did not hesitate to say" Looking after me". I will drop anything that I am doing if my family needs me. My family come first and I think of myself as Mother, Wife, daughter, sister, teacher - in that order. I am currently having a “Gap year” – I left my teaching job with my Husband’s blessing and very much in answer to God’s prompting in August 2016. I am now looking and waiting for God to reveal His plan for my life.

6 thoughts on “Struggles with Romans

  1. I’m happy to carry on, in whatever timescale suits others. I agree that our comments don’t have to be detailed; most of mine during #Luke2Acts weren’t, and I’ve really only gone into detail on some chapters in Romans to try and get my thoughts straight (or at least identify my concerns).

  2. Yes, let’s carry on with Romans and then maybe take a break to give us time to reflect on the best way forward.
    The Bible is God’s word for God’s people . I am mindful of that when I read it & when I tweet, especially on #Rom2Rev. I’m also mindful of ‘the lost’…Jesus has such a heart for them. Twitter is public… I wonder how many people quietly read #Rom2Rev posts?

    • Thanks Chris.
      I so completely agree. We all have followers who may never hear or see God’s Word other than our posts. I do find that the discipline helps me. Romans has been hard going, but anything worth doing always is?
      Will “discuss” next week.

  3. Pingback: Time to grow up and be foolish | Random Ramblings

Leave a Reply

