Random Ramblings

Reflections on my walk with God

Where shall I go?

6 Comments

The story of the woman caught in adultery is so powerful ( John 8:3-11 ). Jesus once again turning the established order of things in their head. But I have often wondered what happens next….

image

I am alive, I can’t understand how I am still alive. The silence around me is as frightening as the noise was just a few minutes ago. Did I really hear someone say
“Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.” ?

Slowly I look up. They have gone , my accusers have left nothing but stones forming a rough but incomplete ring surrounding me. The man who had spoken is the only one left.

“Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”

Looking around again in amazement I realise that there really is no one else left.
“No one, Lord.”

The man looks at me, His eyes carry the joy and sorrow of eternity. I am caught in the gaze, time stands still. He is speaking again.
“Neither do I condemn you; go, and from now on sin no more.”

The stone drops from His hand gently hitting the ground and completing the circle. Overwhelmed, I cannot understand my own feelings……..

I should be dead, no one will want me to stay here. My own family will treat me like the outcast that I am. I feel forgiven, completely, this man has liberated me from my past, but what future can I possibly have?

He is turning to leave, without thinking I speak again, “Lord, where will I go?”. Smiling he holds out his hand and gently leads me out of the circle of hate, “Follow me”.

Author: triciafrasman

Updated April 2017! When I started this blog I was very much a "young" Christian and still very much finding my way. This year I celebrate my 10th rebirth day in June and so must think of myself as at least an adolescent Christian, but this blog is still about my meandering walk with God. I became a Mother at 41 - and that colours much of how I live my life. When asked at about 4 what Mummy's most important job was, my daughter did not hesitate to say" Looking after me". I will drop anything that I am doing if my family needs me. My family come first and I think of myself as Mother, Wife, daughter, sister, teacher - in that order. I am currently having a “Gap year” – I left my teaching job with my Husband’s blessing and very much in answer to God’s prompting in August 2016. I am now looking and waiting for God to reveal His plan for my life.

6 thoughts on “Where shall I go?

  1. I love this – great job – I love the end – Follow me!

  2. Thanks for getting back to me. I’m actually performing the story called Exposed – this same story from the man’s point of view, tomorrow night as a part of a fund raising event. It’s so encouraging to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

