Random Ramblings

Reflections on my walk with God

I am cloth

2 Comments

Words that were “given” to me one night several years ago.
I was struggling with my young daughter while my husband was working way from home. It felt like I couldn’t hold everything together … My life was unravelling..

I am cloth.

The weft and the warp are the threads of my life.
Each thread has its place – its direction.
The threads cannot stand alone.
Alone they have no meaning.
It is only when they are brought together that the pattern emerges.
I am woven by The Master Craftsman,
The Weaver who never takes his eye off the pattern,
The Lord who knows what will be seen when the cloth is complete.
I am the cloth – I cannot see what I will look like.
The mirror gives a pale and distorted view.
Only when I look through His eyes can I see the whole.
His deft direction never stops – He makes no mistakes.
His creation is flawless.
But I am flawed.
I thought that I could weave my own life.
I thought that I could choose the direction of the weft and the warp.
I have chosen threads which do not fit the pattern.
I have run the threads in the wrong direction.
Now the cloth is twisted and the pattern is obscured.
I cannot straighten the cloth,
I cannot restore the pattern.
But The Lord is the Master craftsman who is above all others.
He can take this cloth and mend it.
The pattern will be restored – perfect as it should be,
Beautiful to behold, and a reflection of its Creator.

Author: triciafrasman

Updated April 2017! When I started this blog I was very much a "young" Christian and still very much finding my way. This year I celebrate my 10th rebirth day in June and so must think of myself as at least an adolescent Christian, but this blog is still about my meandering walk with God. I became a Mother at 41 - and that colours much of how I live my life. When asked at about 4 what Mummy's most important job was, my daughter did not hesitate to say" Looking after me". I will drop anything that I am doing if my family needs me. My family come first and I think of myself as Mother, Wife, daughter, sister, teacher - in that order. I am currently having a “Gap year” – I left my teaching job with my Husband’s blessing and very much in answer to God’s prompting in August 2016. I am now looking and waiting for God to reveal His plan for my life.

2 thoughts on “I am cloth

  1. Just found this poem after you replied on twitter. When Andrew died and I started blogging I called my first blog unravelling-edges, I felt as if I was coming undone so the idea of cloth and threads pulled out of shape really spoke to me. My blog now is called reravellling because there is no name for putting the threads back in order but that is what I am trying to do and sometimes I even step back and let God figure it out, I’m not good at letting go but I am learning!

    • Thanks Sarah.
      I’m so glad it spoke to you. I was definitely unravelling at the time, feeling like I simply couldn’t keep juggling all the balls anymore. It is so hard to try to just “let go and Let God”. But He sees it all, and it will be beautiful when it’s complete.
      Blessings,
      Tricia

Leave a Reply

